Sunday, August 1, 2010

Ask the Rules Lawyer



Going To Ground:

How many time have you come under torrent fire and wish you could give the order to "Take Cover!"?  Well this is the rule for you!  I've seen quite a few games in the current 5th edition rule set and am amazed about how many times this rule is forgotten.

Basically it works like this.   Your opponent rolls to hit and wound.  Before you take any saves or remove any models you declare you're going to ground.  Going to ground will grant the whole unit a +1 to it's cover save.  For those units not in cover they would receive a 6+ cover save as they hit the deck and become prone!

Now lets talk about the penalty for going to ground.  After going to ground the unit can do nothing until the end of its following turn.   A few exceptions to this is the unit still continues to take morale checks and if it is forced to fall back it will return to normal.  If assaulted it will fight as normal but will not receive any benefit of cover because they are not ready for the charge.  Following the assault the unit returns to normal.

6 comments:

  1. Now that is something I had not ever heard of.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just to clarify: The unit adds +1 to its cover save, not a 1+ cover save.

    Losing a turn as well as the defending through cover benefit is a tough trade off for saving a couple of troups.

    Playing with 2 power armor forces means I'm usually only taking cover saves when AP punches through, but I would be inclined just to take a couple of wounds. However, at the end of a game when victory points come into play, it may be smart just to wait it out.

    By it's lack of the rules specificity, I suppose monstrous creatures and special characters may also use g2ground? (Assuming a monstrous creature benefits from cover, 50% hidden?)

    Just got my 5 ed. book this week btw.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Is ramming new or did I miss it in 4ed?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Page 51 of your rulebook states that Monstrous Creatures can't go to ground. Special Characters however are able to.

    Ramming is new!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Does it give somthing with no sae a +6 save then?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yes, a unit not in cover can take a +6 cover save.

    ReplyDelete