Sunday, August 8, 2010

Ask the Rules Lawyer



So there was a question text to me the other day and I thought it would be a good one for this segment.  Can you mix troops within a tank or split the squad across multiple transports?  For example six members of the squad in one tank and six in another or mix members from one squad with the members of another?

The answer can be found in Transport Vehicles, under the subheading Transport Capacity.  It states that a transport may carry only ONE infantry unit and any number of independent characters, that count as infantry, as long as the number of models doesn't go over the transport capacity.  The unit must be entirely embarked, not partially embarked or spread across multiple transports.  This is the main rule unless you have a special rule in your codex that will override this main rule.

11 comments:

  1. Something I just found on the (CSM) FAQ's...

    "Q. Can a unit numbering more than 10 models still take a Rhino as a dedicated transport, even though it can not embark?

    A. Yes, as the squad may drop to 10 models or less during the game."

    If someone has the current Chaos Codex, can you compare with me the language of the Chaos rhino choice, and the Witch Hunters rhino choice.

    WH Codex (print), pg. 33-34:
    "Rhino... Transport: The Rhino may carry up to ten models but may not carry... Terminator armour."
    "Battle Sisters Squad... Transport vehicle: If the squad numbers ten models or less, it may be mounted in a Rhino..."

    Immolator language is identical, substitute "six" for "ten".

    If the language in the Codices are identical, why am I not so blessed to be able to do the same?

    ReplyDelete
  2. For instance, army builder recognizes "overstuffed" chaos rhinos, but not WH rhinos or immos.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The reason is that each codex is it's own stand alone rules for a particular army. Armies may share things in common with other codici, however their rules could be different in each codex to represent variety.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is not a stated rule in the Chaos Codex. It's an interpretation of the rule which says a unit of any size may take a dedicated transport, even though it may not embark because it's over the maximum size. It's only official because it's in the Chaos FAQ.

    I wouldn't try to do this unless it was official for WH, but it would be the same logic.

    ReplyDelete
  5. you can take a dedicated transport even if the squad can not fit in the tank it is a common practice of many armies take the transport to use for other units.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  7. ...Hopefully they'll put it in the FAQ.

    ReplyDelete
  8. After reviewing the wording in the codex I've come to the conclusion that you may buy an Immolator transport, regardless of unit size.

    The key word to look at in the rule is the word "may" as opposed to the word "must". So the squad "may" be mounted but it doesn't say it "must" be mounted. The rule also doesn't specify that in order to buy an Immolator you "must" only have six models in the squad. I think you're safe to take the transport without problem.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I dont see most people wont give you any issues about it. The only thing that you will want to check on is in tourneys make sure the organizers do not have issues.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I deleted my comment that I had called Games Workshop Thursday to ask them, and they (2 different representatives) agreed with that interpretation, and they responded that this would be true for any army that does not have to enter the game embarked in the transport.

    However, I also talked to the 40kArmyBuilder Maintainers about changing their Transport Capacity validity, but received an answer similar to your previous one: different codex, different rules -- and GW reps don’t know what they're talking about.

    As GW said, this is not a stated rule in the Chaos Codex either. There are no explicit statements that you may take a transport with models>capacity. It's an interpretation that works across the board and I hope they will update the FAQ eventually.

    But for now, to be on the safe side, I am trying to tear the turrets off my immolators so they WYSIWYG as Rhinos so they can hold 10 models, rather than 6. I want the immolators, but since a 6-girl unit is completely worthless, I’ve got to dump them.

    I do realize this is a dick-move to get around the force organization chart (Immos don't count as Heavy Support when taken as transport). Can't even say I would do it if I could. But let's face it -- I don't have alot of options as Sisters and I have to explore my options.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Within the 40K gaming community very little faith is put into the rules hotline. The people who answer rules questions for GW aren't game designers and have more often than not given two different answers for the same question.

    I still hold by my original ruling as it will not be against the rules to have a 10 sister squad accompanied by an Immolator. On the opposite side of that though is the fact that your sisters, if 10 strong, will not be afforded any protection from the tank. This protection is a strong tactic in 5th edition to keep your sisters alive! I would suggest a few 10 sister strong units in rhinos and armed with two meltaguns to pop enemy armor. It's what is referred to as a drive by. You drive up within 6 inches of enemy armor and shoot out the two firing points of the rhino and get your 2d6 armor penetration roll!

    ReplyDelete